Contact us

Ravi Nessman named deputy for AP's South region

ATLANTA (AP) — Ravi Nessman, who has covered and led award-winning news stories in Asia, the Middle East, Africa and the United States, has been named The Associated Press' deputy editor for the U.S. South region, overseeing coverage from 13 states and the District of Columbia.

Ravi Nessman

The appointment was announced Thursday by South Editor Lisa Marie Pane.

Nessman was the South Asia bureau chief from 2009 until 2013, when he left to become a Nieman fellow at Harvard University, where he has been studying the role of poverty and religion in modern society. Based in New Delhi, he managed journalists in six countries, overseeing award-winning breaking news, enterprise and investigative coverage that included the deadly garment factory collapse in Bangladesh and an investigation into microfinance companies in India driving people to suicide. He teamed up with AP's Kristen Gelineau, bureau chief for Australia, to produce "The Longest Journey Home," a story of a young man's quest to find his mother after they were separated decades earlier in India and he was adopted by a family in Australia. The two-part story won the 2013 APME award for feature writing.

"Ravi has a long and impressive track record of success at every level — as a reporter, as an editor and as a news leader," Pane said. "He is driven to tell our most compelling stories in a way that explains, exposes and informs, to dig beneath the surface and explain how news events impact our lives. I can't think of a better partner in our mission to capture the South for a global audience."

"Ravi Nessman is one of the smartest and most energetic journalists I know, and one of our very best newsroom leaders," said Brian Carovillano, the AP's managing editor for U.S. news. "I am thrilled to have him on our team in the South."

The AP's South region encompasses news in 13 states — Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia — and the District of Columbia.

Nessman joined AP in 1994 as a reporter in Chicago. He also was a reporter in Newark and Philadelphia and an editor on the International Desk in New York, before embarking on a journalism career overseas where he was news editor overseeing 11 southern African countries, correspondent in Jerusalem and bureau chief in Sri Lanka.

Nessman, 41, is a native of New Jersey and earned a bachelor's degree from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University.

沙湾| 纳雍| 维西| 石景山| 余杭| 都昌| 富阳| 珠海| 叶县| 肇东| 石首| 南坪| 昌邑| 南康| 灵山| 临桂| 富县| 红安| 榆中| 康乐| 宣化| 融水| 浠水| 兴宁| 宁波| 东莞| 彭阳| 北安| 图们| 额敏| 全椒| 永州| 林西| 伊金霍洛旗| 丰镇| 柳林| 大连| 揭阳| 冷水江| 林芝| 滕州| 武隆| 宁远| 塔什库尔干| 烟筒山| 千里岩| 襄汾| 歙县| 南汇| 长春| 万荣| 青浦| 龙江| 咸丰| 杞县| 拐子湖| 鹿寨| 张家川| 鄞州| 恒春| 朝克乌拉| 镇雄| 吴江| 黄冈| 苍南| 琼山| 魏县| 阿合奇| 聂拉木| 澳门| 胡尔勒| 博白| 惠水| 宜黄| 班玛| 河南| 郫县| 玛曲| 瑞昌| 乐至| 六合| 东港| 乌鲁木齐牧试站| 大庆| 通渭| 波密| 海南| 汉川| 烟台| 资阳| 同安| 神农架| 希拉穆仁| 拐子湖| 天山大西沟| 弋阳| 兴国| 应县| 五莲| 黔阳| 八达岭| 沙河| 余干| 天祝| 大柴旦| 阿木尔| 贵南| 孪井滩| 眉山| 富蕴| 浦北| 九仙山| 江城| 陆丰| 朝阳| 华山| 雅安| 鄂伦春旗| 溧阳| 晋宁| 蒲江| 赤水| 南华| 沙塘| 儋州| 仁寿| 聊城| 会泽| 鹤山| 威海| 都江堰| 楚雄| 曹县| 漳平| 正定| 霍城| 太仓| 温县| 东海| 乌兰乌苏| 肃北| 临漳| 抚顺| 乌拉特前旗| 余庆| 麻黄山| 剑川| 宁海| 鸡公山| 佛冈| 博湖| 图们| 黑山头| 潍坊| 原阳| 荣县| 广元| 托克托| 景谷| 海口| 双江| 黎川| 临洮| 胡尔勒| 镇平| 巴林左旗| 东港| 定西| 师宗| 佳县| 樟树| 营山| 临淄| 黑山头| 涿鹿| 泗洪| 江陵| 台儿庄| 黄平| 始兴| 濮阳| 延川| 白玉| 南华| 镇江| 民和| 福贡| 炮台| 湘阴| 千阳| 舟山| 南澎岛| 九台| 满洲里| 大兴安岭| 汾阳| 大陈| 应城| 琼结| 鄂托克前旗| 浏阳| 丹棱| 鼎新| 诸城| 册亨| 户县| 闽清| 安塞| 瑞安| 桥口| 彰武| 汇川| 武安| 定边| 邢台| 乌恰| 乌鲁木齐牧试站| 奈曼旗| 青河| 鄂伦春旗| 延吉| 东安| 泰山| 沅陵| 华县| 浏阳| 汾西| 卢氏| 松江| 大同| 安岳| 剑川| 小二沟| 桐城| 南充| 乐清| 阿图什| 康定| 仙居| 海阳| 双城| 和县| 武都| 福海| 钟山| 怀集| 柳林| 大冶| 陈家镇| 平潭海峡大桥| 河曲| 大柴旦| 梅河口| 鄢陵| 威宁| 龙江| 大足| 宁远| 芜湖县| 江安| 萧山| 南和| 巩留| 博克图| 朱日和| 硇洲| 石泉| 赤壁| 榆次| 茶陵| 花都| 容县| 三亚| 七台河| 黑山头| 永泰| 果洛| 三河| 民乐| 满洲里| 禹城| 陇川| 麦积| 清水河| 满都拉| 石拐| 金川| 宁县| 习水| 汤原| 深泽| 洛川| 沾化| 枣庄| 狮泉河| 泰宁| 澄江| 南江| 襄阳| 八宿| 永署礁| 宜州| 常州| 延寿| 姚安| 福海| 黎平| )| 扶沟| 嘉禾| 胶南| 丁青| 鹤峰| 崇左| 赫章| 临安| 沈丘| 固原| 巴仑台| 徽县| 华山| 澄江| 江孜| 乐业| 宁强| 宁冈| 兴平| 嵊泗| 龙陵| 双鸭山| 宁波| 宜宾县| 溧水| 镇江| 六合| 铁卜加| 湖州| 枝江| 峄城| 正兰旗| 七台河| 东莞| 郸城| 九龙| 肃北| 广南| 唐山| 海口| 康保| 比如| 汝南| 武宁| 萍乡| 盐源| 和县| 江陵| 微山| 阿木尔| 阿荣旗| 松江| 合江| 哈密| 公馆| 燕尾港| 顺平| 景德镇| 眉县| 龙海| 贡山| 临河| 襄汾| 合阳| 若羌| 民丰| 高唐| 西乌珠穆沁旗| 南岳| 吴忠| 临淄| 蓝田| 禄劝| 嵩县| 嘉义| 丰县| 通榆| 石炭井| 千阳| 赣榆| 始兴| 丹东| 莱西| 木垒| 隆昌| 普宁| 大埔| 息烽| 米泉| 黑河| 永康| 乐亭